Julie Cravotto Awarded the 2019 University Medalist!

June 10, 2019
Julie Cravotto, a fourth-year history and political science double major and a University Honors Program student, has recently been honored with the 2019 University Medal.

The University Medal recognizes the top graduating senior for academic excellence, a dedication to community service, and the continuation of their leadership contributions to society.

A record number of Honors graduates walk across the stage at Spring Banquet 2019

June 06, 2019
Each year the University Honors Program hosts an end-of-the-year Spring Banquet celebration for our graduating seniors. This year a record 116 Honors graduates walked across the stage at Spring Banquet.

Spring Banquet is a formal dinner and celebration that gives students the opportunity to celebrate their accomplishments in a small, intimate setting with their peers and families. As they walk up to the stage, students are greeted by the friendly and familiar faces of the UHP and Undergraduate Education leadership team who have supported them throughout their years at UC Davis.

Music and Sociology Faculty Win the 2019 UHP Outstanding Faculty Awards

June 04, 2019

One of the most unique aspects of the University Honors Program is the innovative, discussion-based, honors courses. UHP students have the opportunity to engage with their professors and peers through these settings in a way that may not be possible in a large, lecture-style course. The 2019 Outstanding Teaching Award recognizes a professor nominated by students for being an inspirational and engaging part of the honors experience. This year it was received by Professor Anna Maria Busse Berger from the Music Department.

Catching up with the 2013 University Medalist Nicole "Nix" Sitkin Zelin: Physician, Advocate and IS Alum

June 04, 2019

by UHP Director Dave Furlow

I was happy to speak recently with, Nicole "Nix" Sitkin Zelin, an Integrated Studies alum (Miller 417!), and a former student of mine. Nix majored in Neurobiology, Physiology and Behavior and minored in Art, building on her year abroad in Bordeaux. In recognition of her outstanding academics, work on behalf of LGBTQI health disparities, and research accomplishments while at UC Davis, Nix was awarded the 2013 University Medal.

Two UHP Graduates Win the 2019 Chancellor's Award for Undergraduate Research

June 04, 2019
The Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Research is given to graduating seniors for accomplishing creative exploration and admirable research. This year's two recipients are students in the University Honors Program. 

Joleen Cheah, Biological Sciences, and Megan West, English and Sociology, each received a special plaque and $500 for their distinct discoveries as undergraduate researchers. Additionally, another UHP student, Erin Hisey, Animal Science, received one of the five honorable mentions.

Three UHP Students Win the 2019 Lang Prize for Undergraduate Research

June 04, 2019
Three of the seven recipients of the 2019 Norma J. Lang Prize are students in the University Honors Program.

This award recognizes students for extensively using library resources and services for their undergraduate research projects. The prize is funded by an endowment from the late UC Davis Professor Emerita of Botany, Norma J. Lang. The prizes are awarded within two different categories: Arts, Humanities, & Social Sciences and Science, Engineering, & Mathematics.

How One Honors Student Turned a First-Year Seminar into an Undergraduate Career of Research

May 22, 2019
Through utilizing the small classroom experience in UHP and First-Year Seminars, Honors students are able to build connections with faculty, and future mentors, that impact their entire undergraduate research experience.

“It was a cool, crazy, unexpected, life-changing experience,” Michael P. Montgomery said with a smile on his face. He was referring to the International Hemingway Conference he attended in Paris, France, in July 2018, where he presented his research on one of  Ernest Hemingway's short stories and was awarded the Frank Blake Scholarship.